Electronic Medical Review - EMR
Friday, June 10, 2005
>Medical school graduates inaugural class


The College of Medicine graduated its first crop of 27 doctors on May 21. The students in the inaugural class of the College of Medicine began their studies in May 2001 on FSU's main campus, where they spent their first two years of medical school. They completed their third and fourth years of study at the medical school’s regional campuses in Orlando, Pensacola and Tallahassee. The graduating students have all passed the national licensing exam (USMLE Step 2) and matched with residency programs, where they will begin their graduate medical education in July. The first graduation received statewide media coverage, with articles appearing in newspapers such as the Pensacola News-Journal and the Bradenton Herald and coverage by television media such as Fox 35 in Orlando and the program Capital Update, which airs on public television stations throughout the state. The students were awarded for academic achievement, service and leadership in an awards ceremony on May 19. (List of 2005 Awards)

>Welcome, Class of 2009!

The College of Medicine welcomes a new class of students, who began their medical education this week. Of the 81 students in the Class of 2009, more than half are from minority populations, more than two-thirds are female, 28.6 percent are nontraditional (older) and 15 percent are from rural or disadvantaged backgrounds. Five of the new students came directly from the medical school's Bridge Program, which targets students from medically underserved rural and inner-city populations and offers them the chance to spend a post-baccalaureate year preparing for medical school.

>Dr. Charlotte Maguire recognized by American Geriatrics Society
On May 13, Charlotte Maguire, M.D., was presented with the 2005 David H. Solomon Distinguished Public Service Award by the president of the American Geriatrics Society, David B. Reuben, M.D., at the organization's annual meeting in Orlando. Maguire was the first female doctor to establish a private pediatrics practice in Orlando. The award was created by the AGS to honor David H. Solomon, M.D., in recognition of his commitment to community service and the advancement of knowledge of caring for older adults. Maguire, whose donations exceed $3 million, is the College of Medicine's greatest benefactor and is a member of the medical school's Geriatrics Advisory Council. Her most recent gift of $1,000,001 will create an endowed chair in geriatric medicine.
>Dr. Gene Ryerson receives awards from UF and FSU in the same year
Gene Ryerson, M.D., chair of the department of clinical sciences, has received two new awards created by the Society of Teaching Scholars at the University of Florida College of Medicine. Ryerson taught at UF for nearly 25 years before arriving at FSU. The two awards are the Teacher of the Year in Perpetuity Award, which recognizes individuals who have received the UF College of Medicine Teacher of the Year Award on multiple occasions; and the Hippocratic Scholars Award, which recognizes individuals who have received the prestigious Hippocratic Award on multiple occasions. While on the faculty at UF, Ryerson received more than 30 teaching awards. He was also chosen by FSU medical students for a teaching award, which was presented to him in April at a ceremony honoring the Class of 2007. (see THIRD-YEAR STUDENTS below)
>The College of Medicine has a new Associate Dean for Student Affairs
Peter Eveland, Ed.D., L.P.C., L.S.W., is the new associate dean for student affairs. Eveland comes to the College of Medicine from Mercer University School of Medicine, a community-based medical school in Macon, Ga., where he was an associate dean responsible for student affairs, and the registrar and financial aid offices. He has replaced interim associate dean, Helen Livingston, Ed.D., who will retire next month. Eveland earned his doctorate in counselor education and supervision from the University of Cincinnati.
>Ph.D. students from College of Medicine labs receive awards from TMH Foundation
Three Ph.D. students working under College of Medicine biomedical sciences faculty members Charles Ouimet, Ph.D., and Mohammed Kabbaj, Ph.D., were awarded with Bryan W. Robinson Awards by the Tallahassee Memorial Healthcare Foundation. The awards, which were created in honor of Robinson, a remarkable neurologist at TMH who died of a brain tumor, were given at TMH during a special ceremony at which the recipients gave research presentations. Karen Dietz (Ouimet lab) won the $2500 grand prize, and David Dietz (Kabbaj lab) and Mike Darcy (Ouimet lab) were also awarded. The winners were selected from a pool of applicants by a selection committee based on the merit of their work and their academic records.
>Third-year students head off to regional campuses next month

The students in the Class of 2007 will be heading off to regional medical school campuses in Orlando, Pensacola, Sarasota and Tallahassee next month. As part of the curriculum, third- and fourth-year medical students complete their clinical education at regional campuses around the state through affiliations with hospitals, ambulatory care facilities and doctors' offices. An end-of-the-year ceremony was held April 19 to honor the class for its academic achievements and to present faculty with teaching awards. (List of 2007 Awards)

E-mail Alumni Affairs
Phone: 850-645-9428